The Next Big Thing: All About My WIP

Posted Nov 26 2012, 11:21 am in , , , , , , ,

The Next Big Thing is the latest meme to hit writers and their blogs. I’ve been tagged by Kate Meader, who is a Chicago-North RWA chaptermate and fellow contemporary romance author. Her first book FEEL THE HEAT (a foodie romance!) is due out next spring. 

Rules for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop:
***Use this format for your post
***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book?

I totally suck at coming up with titles, so I don’t. At least not until I’m ready to send it off into the world. My WIPs are saved in my computer under the heroine’s first name. Boring, I know. I don’t even have any ideas for titles. The WIP I’m going to talk about today is named Fiona.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’ve written 3 books in the O’Leary family series and although I’ll probably do more, I wanted to dig into something new. So I pulled out my little notebook of ideas and read through my notes. I have random scraps of ideas, usually bits of characters. Then I picked the one that felt like it was the closest to being a well-formed idea.

For this one, I had an idea for a couple who start off as being friends with benefits, but the heroine falls for the hero. Something in his past keeps him from wanting a real relationship with her, so although they try to break it off, they can’t stay away from each other.

What genre does your book fall under?

Single-title contemporary romance

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This one is easy because before I started writing, I created collages with actors as placeholders for my characters.

Fiona (heroine) — Rachel Lefevre

Connor (hero) — Sam Worthington (although I used a different guy for a shirtless picture – they look similar enough) 

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Two strangers begin a secret relationship, but when he finds out her true identity, he thinks he’s found the way to redeem himself, but doing so will ruin her relationship both with him and with her family. (whew — is that vague and confusing enough? Can you tell I don’t write with an outline? Check back in 6 months and the entire story might change 😉 )

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I am represented by Fran Black and Jenn Mishler of Literary Counsel, so they’ll go out on submission with my book.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I don’t know. It’s not done yet. I’m only about 25,000 words in (a little more than 1/4). I hope to have the first (really rough) draft done by the end of the year, but with the kids around and the holidays, who knows

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I hate trying to compare myself to other writers because I always feel like I’m bragging. But, if I had to choose, I’d say that readers who like Victoria Dahl or Jill Shalvis would like my books.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The idea of a heroine who falls for a regular booty call is loosely based on a friend. She loved this guy, but he was never part of her life other than when alone in her apartment. After a few tries, she finally did break up with him, but I began to wonder why he wouldn’t commit, or what would it take to change their circumstances, and a book idea was born.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

My hero is a good guy with a troubled past. He confesses to a crime he didn’t commit and that decision has haunted him for years. Readers who like stories of revenge and redemption will probably like Connor.


I am now tagging the following, most excellent writers.

1. Ruthie Knox — because I love her writing and can’t wait for her next book.

2. Jessica Scott — because she writes about military heroes and I love a man in uniform (plus, I really want to read some of Reza’s story)

3. Erin Brambilla — because she is an awesome Chicago-North RWA member and YA author (and mom of multiples-Yikes!)

4. Kat Latham — because she always blogs about great contemporary romances and does giveaways on her blog. Plus, she just signed with an agent, so I’m sure her own book will sell soon.

5. Tina Moss — because she is my agency-mate and her blog is always a lot of fun.

1 Comment

Comments

One response to “The Next Big Thing: All About My WIP”

  1. Thanks for the tag, Shannyn! I love the idea for your new story and can’t wait to read it :)!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*